Common Questions about Divorces in Utah

Getting divorced from your spouse is never an easy process. On top of filing paperwork and necessary attorney fees, the emotional distress that divorcing parties go through constitutes the unquantifiable cost of a divorce. Whether or not you have children, opting for the dissolution of a marriage and getting a divorce is difficult.

What are the two common ways to obtain a divorce?

Following relevant divorce law in Utah, divorce cases can either be uncontested or contested. In an uncontested divorce case, a married couple generally agrees on how the dissolution of marriage takes place. If they don’t agree on certain aspects, the legal process will be referred to as a contested divorce case. Aside from child custody being decided upon through court hearing, several other things tend to be more complicated in contested divorces. As such, some couples try to settle for an uncontested divorce, as they are less stressful, both emotionally and financially. (Consult with a divorce attorney to know the difference and, eventually, how to file and get a divorce with less stress).

 In Utah’s uncontested divorce process, spouses may negotiate and attempt at resolving disagreements related to the petition for divorce. In doing so, they can avoid facing a messy divorce trial in the courtroom. The uncontested process of divorce is often much shorter since couples do not have to go through certain steps, such as evaluations for child custody. As such, this divorce filing is also called a quickie divorce.

How can I file an uncontestable divorce petition?

Divorces in UtahBefore you can file an uncontested case in divorce court, you must first agree on all aspects of your petition for dissolution of marriage. These include:

  • Division of property, particularly marital property
  • Legal rights in assets and allocation of debts
  • Child support, legal custody, and visitation
  • Alimony or spousal support, if any

How much do I have to pay when I file for divorce?

The costs associated with divorce filings depend on the filing fee set by your local courthouse for divorce paperwork. Since going through a divorce can be costly, you can submit to the court a fee waiver request. This is essentially asking the judge to waive the costs with the court.

How long do I have to wait before I am done with the divorce procedure?

In Utah, there is a 30-day waiting period before a divorce is completed. Only in an extraordinary circumstance will this waiting period be waived. The family court, for example, may grant a divorce to parents of minors in less than 30 days, provided that both parties complete the Divorce Education Course before they officially get divorced.

There are different grounds for divorce and different ways of proceeding with your filing. Get legal representation and have a reliable divorce lawyer help you with filling out divorce papers. Family law provides specific guidelines for divorce documents. Hire a lawyer who will go through the specifics of your case. Contact a trusted law firm in Utah specializing in divorce proceedings. Call us at Gravis Law.